REVIEW- Body Shop Cleansing Oil and Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

Hey All,

Being a blogger I am suddenly using a lot of make up remover. The reason is obvious but what was not obvious to me was that the quality and the type of makeup remover can make a lot of difference. I was on a lookout for a good remover and wanted to try something good and new. So I thought of giving Thebodyshop a try. I bought two products from the Camomile range. Both of them are newly launched, one is cleansing oil and the other is a gentle eye makeup remover. I also tried to take sample/swatch pictures for you all but did not get any thing good. To compensate for that I have made an effort  to explain the colour and consistency in detail.

7-IMG_0729


Camomile Silky Cleansing oil

For many years I have been using the very basic oil and water based removers. They work fine for me and do not cause any irritation or breakouts but recently I have been hearing a lot about cleansing oils. Initially I thought they are again some oil based removers but when I saw a sample I realized that it was actually oil, real oil. The idea of using oil directly on my face was a bit weird and that too for cleansing? Naah! but experimenting with different products is now a part of blogging. So, I gave it a try but I thought if it has to be an oil it should be a good quality oil so I bought thebodyshop Camomile cleansing oil.

The oil itself is not very thick and therefore it is very easy to rinse off. It is transparent and has a very pleasant and soothing fragrance. It feels a little warm after applying because it contains some hot massaging oils. Consistency is like Johnson’s baby oil.

The bottle is in a pump style and is easy to use. It also comes with  a lock so it is also travel friendly.

8-IMG_0728  TheBodyshop says:

This silky-soft cleanser will effortlessly remove make-up from the whole face quickly and effectively, leaving skin feeling clean, refreshed and clear of impurities. It’s the ultimate time-saver.

  • Removes make-up
  • Suitable for sensitive skin and contact lens wearers
  • Removes waterproof make-up
  • Leaves skin feeling clean and refreshed”

2-IMG_0726

How to Use

Apply directly on face and massage gently. Leave it for 15-20 seconds and rinse it off.

Results

I like the results very much. Specially when I do not have too much make up to remove. The best thing is that I feel very safe when I use it near my eyes. I still pay attention to avoid any contact with my eyes since it is not all natural but it feels much more natural than other water based removers. The best part is that It leaves my skin feeling smooth and moisturized to some extent. You would expect that from oil. Right? I was almost certain that my skin will feel oily but it didn’t. The reason could be that my skin is often dry and thirsty. I cannot say that surely about oily skin. It says that it is suitable for all skin types. If you are interested to try it but  are doubtful about its effects then may be you can ask for a sample from body shop or any other brand’s cleansing oil to test its effects on your skin type.

4-IMG_0723


Camomile gentle eye makeup remover

Since most of the work is done on eyes I needed a dedicated eye makeup remover. Something really gentle and safe for eyes. This bodyshop eye makeup remover looks and feels exactly like water and the best part is that it has no colour but there is an odour which I think comes from the ingredients. They say it is fragrance free but I guess they mean that there is no added fragrance.  Apart from that negative (which cost it 1 point rating from me), it works wonderfully for eye makeup removal. Body shop also claims that it conditions the eyelids. I am not very sure about that but I can say that my eyes did not feel dry at all.

6-IMG_0730Thebodyshop says:

“Soothing and non-oily, this cleanser gently removes make-up from lashes and lids in seconds. Also conditions lashes and skin around the eye area so they feel soft and silky.

  • Removes eye make-up
  • Leaves lashes and lids feeling soft and clean
  • Light and soothing
  • Suitable for sensitive skin and contact lens wearers
  • Fragrance and colour-free”

1-IMG_1264

5-IMG_0732

Results:

Camomile gentle eye makeup remover is really really gentle.  I used it very very thoroughly on my eyes, cleaning my upper, lower eyelids and corners of the eyes, and it was perfect. I think one of the qualities of a good makeup remover is how much  you require to get rid of the makeup. There is no set quantity for that but if you need a lot of soaking cleansing pads to clean just eyes, you should know that your current remover isn’t very effective. With this one I did not need a lot and that just tells me that it is very efficient.

I did not feel any irritation after the use but I was also careful to not let it into my eye so I cannot say how much irritation it will cause if it gets into your eye by mistake. I suggest to avoid any eye contact and that goes true for any makeup remover in the world 🙂 The bottle is boring and big (it is 250 ml) with an easy open cap with a pop up lid at top. I wish it was in a spray form in fact I wish all water based removers came in spray form but this works fine too.


7-IMG_0729

Camomile Silky Cleansing Oil

Price 

INR 1095, MYR 69 for 200 ml

shimmerdiaries rating 4.5/5

Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

Price 

INR 795, MYR 49 for 250 ML

shimmerdiaries rating 4/5

Recommendation: Both these products win for me. Cleansing oil is a good change and the eye makeup remover is very efficient. Although, I will prefer a complete odour free version for my next purchase. I am definitely buying these and some other removers/cleansing oils from boydshop once these run out.

Are you thinking that these are too expensive? No they are not. Notice that the quantity is 200ml and 250 ml, it will last for months. They actually cost almost the same compared to some of the regular brands like Lakme, L’oreal or Maybelline. Consider this:

  • Lakme remover INR 225 for 60 ML, cost of 200 ml = 750
  • Maybelline remover INR 275 for 70 ML, cost of 200 ML= 785
  • and it’s the same for other brands too.

Sorry other brands I mean no harm, I am just trying to justify my purchase 😉

Bisous,

Shilpi

One thought on “REVIEW- Body Shop Cleansing Oil and Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

Leave a comment

